Grandma Ryan’s Irish Soda Bread


Grandma Ryans Irish Soda Bread

Grandma Ryans Irish Soda Bread

Irish Soda Bread Recpe

Irish Soda Bread Recpe

My husband is 100% Irish, and this Soda Bread recipe comes from his Grandma, who came from County Mayo in Ireland. She came to America at the age of 14 or 15 (by herself) to be a governess, and send money home to her family in Ireland πŸ™‚ My Oldest son is named Ryan, after his Grandpa Ryan. I have a tiny bit of Irish from my Dads side, but I take after my Italian Mom πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Grandma Ryan’s Irish Soda Bread

  1. Oooh thanxx for this wonderful recipe! I’m 100% Irish too (but living in Australia for the past 20 years). Our elderly neighbour used to make this bread for us when we were little (she called it ‘Spotted Dick’ – no, really!). I absolutely loved it, so I am really thrilled to have the recipe so I can make it for my family. Thank you!! (p.s. I will let Monty have a little taste too) : ))x

    • I’m so glad you are going to make it! And my Jack the Goldendoodle loves it! (no raisins for him though, I heard raisins were not good for dogs to eat for some reason)
      P.S. I used a little more butermilk and butter, I thought the batter was a little dry. I didn’t measure, just splashed a little extra in πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the extra tip. Good call re the raisins and the dog… Raisins are dried grapes and grapes cause kidney failure in dogs. Apparently even one grape can cause problems… Eek!

      • Well before I ever heard of the grape thing, my teenage boys and their friends had a ‘grape throwing’ fight in my kitchen, and Jack was eating all the grapes that hit the floor – and nothing happened to him. I heard about the grape/raisin thing after that, and I don’t let him have any now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

